top of page
  • Writer's pictureAndradaT

A special conference (1)

Updated: Nov 19, 2020

Andrada's POV


I arrive at the Kennedy International airport, for my three days medical conference. The institute I work for in Romania sent me to find the best PCR machine for our new research project on the new COVID 19 vaccine. I would be attending presentations and talk to medical representatives who will help me with this quest. That’s a lot of responsibility, especially when you take such a long trip to another continent in the name of the best research institute in your country. I haven’t had the opportunity to do this before, my job being mostly working with the machines, but as a team leader now, I am the most appropriate person to decide.

Getting to my hotel, I ask for a cup of coffee and start unpacking. I must confess I am a little conscious of myself, as everyone at this conference would be wearing fancy clothes. I must look my best in order to be taken seriously and impress…So, I look at the outfits I brought. The dark blue dress, with just the right amount of cleavage and a shape that is complementing my body, is the winner for tonight. It’s just the opening of the conference, so it will be mostly a cocktail party, but a first good impression is essential!

I choose black lace underwear, which brings the best in me and makes me feel very confident. Just a little perfume, a pair of high heeled shoes and a necklace to rest between my breasts and the outfit are complete. I am looking myself in the mirror while sipping on a delicious, creamy, coffee. Yes…I think I might just have some fun tonight too…at least if the participants are not too uptight ;)

The taxi leaves me in front of the building where the official opening of the conference is taking place. Wow! It is indeed glamorous. New York is not joking when it throws a party!

As I enter, I can see men dressed in elegant suits and women in rather masculine, smart clothes. It’s like they want to make a point that they belong and thrive in the world of men. Well, I am going to use a feminine card. I believe that each sex has its advantages and should use them at their best. Being so out of place in my cocktail dress, I see many heads turning. I smile to myself and approach the bar where they serve the drinks. I need some courage….

As we were all tested before coming here, most people don’t wear masks, feeling the connection would be better created when one can use their entire facial expression. As I sip from my glass of champagne I look around again, taking in everything around me. My eyes stop on a very elegant man, involved in a conversation with a group of people. He exudes confidence and charm, and I can see everyone focused on what he is saying.

I feel pulled like by an invisible thread, towards him. My pulse is getting stronger, as I see his eyes being attracted to me too. I feel warmth climbing up my cheeks and my lips part slightly. He excuses himself from his companions and starts walking towards me. As he reaches me, he smiles and his eyes have a sparkle as if he is amused by something.

“Good evening, miss. Are you enjoying your night so far?”

“Good evening, sir”, I answer, happy that my voice doesn’t betray my internal turmoil at the proximity of this man. “Everything is perfect, thank you. What about yourself?”


“Wonderful, and getting better and better”, he answers with complicity in his voice. “I must say that you are a very brave young woman”

“Brave?” I ask, feeling my hands tremble a little on the champagne glass.

“Well, of course! You were brave enough to express yourself without trying to fill someone else’s shoes. That is a beautiful dress. My name is Jack, by the way.”

“Andrada, nice to meet you”, I answer as steady as my voice permits. Is he flirting with me? Well, it seems that the academic world is moving fast here in the US. Well, I can’t say I complain…


to be continued...

64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page